subdivided units are inhumane and make tenants' lives miserable

Some people argue that subdivided units are inhumane because the tenants do not have enough space and are forced to live in very bad conditions. While they do have a point in their arguments, I think that the lives of such tenants would become even more miserable if not for the subdivided units, that is, a small roof over their heads is still way better than living on the streets. First of all, let's not forget that the subdivided units are alredy the best option for their tenants. They would move to better places or rent a whole apartment if they had the resources. So banning subdivided units actually means taking away the best choice from the poorest people. And that's why the government dare not make subdivided units illegal despite their notoriety. Also, most subdivided units are located in downtown areas and thus very convenient for the tenants to find jobs. There are actually people who prefer to live in downtown and don't mind sacrificing their living space as a trade-off. Because land is an extremely scarce resource in downtown, sharing an apartment with strangers is a natural and logical consequence. This kind of demand for subdivided units will not disappear even if the government develop a lot of public housing in the New Territories. Location is of essence here. And because the laws in Hong Kong do not offer enough protection against deadbeat tenants, subdividing a rental property is a valid solution to lower the risk and stabilize the income, that is, even if one or two deadbeat tenants default on their rents, others will still keep paying. So unless our laws can be somehow modified accordingly, subdivided units do have a function. That said, while it is not wrong to subdivide apartments, letting tenants live in unhygienic or unsafe environment is certainly immoral, if not illegal. Landlords have the responsibility to maintain the basic facilities and provide reasonable space to their tenants. They also need to eliminate fire hazards and ensure that their rental properties have enough protection against theft. Subdivided units should not have such a bad reputation if the landlords are willing to provide quality services worth the rent they are charging. So denouncing subdivided units is missing the point. We should instead focus on how to regulate them and transform them into a normal housing choice for the poor or those who put convenience on the top of their priority list.