Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent to do agree with this statement.

Education is a stepping-stone to build careers of people and choosing a university major is an important step in that direction. It is argued, universities should prepare students for well-paid jobs by making them select their major that enables it. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will illustrate reasons as to why it is important for students to pick electives, based on their interests and passion to build careers for life. It is important for students in college to opt for subjects that aligns to one’s interests. This will help them become a subject matter expertise in the field chosen. For instance, someone who is interested to become an expert in art, will certainly gain required knowledge to create an unique identity in the field of art. If not, students will end up selecting their subjects that are paid well in the market and succumb to societal pressure. This has an adverse effect on them, as it might make them feel stressed to live up to the job expectations and not bring out the best in them. Clearly, decision to choose electives must be made out of choice of interest. In addition, Education uplifts people to build careers for life and follow their dreams. Anything done out of passion, only makes it easier to execute work and carry out day-to-day activities involved with ease. If the field chosen also comes with a good pay, is an added bonus. The essential part is, must create a sense of job satisfaction and fulfillment. Indeed, education must prepare them for life than just financial stability. In conclusion, selecting a major in a university is an important decision to make in order to build a career. However, it is a decision that shapes their future and should be chosen with care. Although, potential salary is one factor to consider, I strongly believe that one should follow their dreams built out of interest and passion as that will take them a long way in shaping their career.