Students passing competency exams, by subject and gender 2010 - 2011

High school students present multiple competency exams on their student life, the subjects and the percentage by gender of the students passing such exams on a year gap can be seen on the (in the) survey. Subjects such as, computer science, mathematics, and foreign language(s)(spanish, German and french) are the ones that had more students passing their competency e xams, regarding the genders, girls were the ones that succeed (succeded) on these. On the other hand, boys and girls failed more on the other subjects, for example, physics, chemistry, history, and geography were the subjects that presented the lowest percentages, this meaning boys and girls were not so prepared or so good on these subjects. It can be seen that girls were more prepared than boys on mathematics, foreign languages, and computer science, and boys were more prepared on physics, chemistry, history, and geography. It can not be seen as a matter of gender, but a matter of the difficulty of the subject.