Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views?

Nowadays, some universities are deducting marks from student's works if given in late. This issue has been drawing the attention from the public. Some people believe that deducting marks from student's work may lead to demotivation and other mental problems, while others hold a view that there is no relationship between the marks and the student's mental status. In my opinion, marks deduction from student's work can influence their mental status due to the social and psychological reasons. First and foremost, it has been argued that the social reason is why I think marks deduction can influence the student's mental status. Although negative impacts must be considered, I still reckon that marks deduction from student's work can influence their mental status. For Example, a well-known American philosopher once said, 'Students generally prefer to get more marks'. It is thus clearly indicating that marks deduction from student's work can influence their life. Besides, another important factor that must be considered is that the psychological reason. As far as society is concerned, students always aim to score more marks. For instance, a recent public article released by The Economist reveals that 80% of students are willing to score more marks though they have given their work in late. It is clearly indicating that marks deduction from student's work can influence their life. In the conclusion, I still hold a view on students that they deserve their marks though they are late. To address this issue, people and the government should make a concerted effort to resolve it.