Some think that buildings should be constructed with functionality in mind, as it is more important than design. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Architecture is undeniably an art form. However, in order to design ‘the perfect project’, an architect has to consider not only its aesthetic appearance but also how the building serves its users. As both aspects are important, surely a successful designer has to favor one aspect before the other. The hallmark of great architecture is how well the building is perceived throughout the time. Sistine Chapel in the Vatican, Guggenheim Museum in the USA, and CCTV Headquarters in China are all well-known by most people living today despite the fact that all of them were built in different eras. The trait they have in common is all of these buildings are sights to behold. Aesthetic design influences how people perceive things, and humankind always responds well to a good form of art. Human beings, ever since the beginning of time, have been continually looking for ways to improve their lives through artform. Be that as it may, any beautiful object is useless if it does not serve its purposes. The Vessel in New York City is a 150-foot spiraling staircase built for tourist attraction and interactive public space. As attractive a structure as it be, it had been the choice of location for three suicides in less than a year as the safety barrier is too easy to be climbed over. As a result, the establishment is closed indefinitely until the owner has resolved this issue. Furthermore, elaborate designs require special techniques and careful considerations. Failure to address these concerns could affect how a building operates, as happened in The Walt Disney Concert Hall. The metallic cladding which covers most of the concert hall’s facade produced excessive glare which then caused a significant rise in temperature and glare that risked traffic accidents. Subsequently, a huge amount of money had to be spent to solve these problems. ‘Form follows function’ is the main design philosophy that drives modern architecture into its stature today. Architects should always start their projects by focusing on a structure’s main function and purposes and its exterior form should reflect a building’s activity inside its walls while always complying with safety regulations and guidelines.