Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Most people believe that a teacher’s sole responsibility is to impart knowledge. Yet for others and myself, a child’s education does not exclusively restrained at expanding their academic prowess, but there is also an underlying need to explore their personality developments. To be able to compete in the professional world later in life, students have to learn the basic matters of language, science, and social studies. It is an educator’s first and foremost duty to equip students with intellectual developments and understanding. However, being the smartest person in the room does not guarantee a fulfilling life. Take a look at Steve Jobs’ earlier days with Apple. He was undoubtedly gifted academically, still, only a handful of people could withstand his temper and demands. His interpersonal relationships were famously calamitous, especially between him and his fellow co-founder, Steve Wozniak, who resigned from Apple because he could not tolerate Jobs anymore. As the saying goes, “There are no bad students, only bad teachers. ” Children are born as a blank canvas, it is up to the parents to instill desirable characteristics and personalities. Nonetheless, in this modern age, the majority of parents work full time and expect the teacher to also discipline their children in the principles of virtue and ethics. Even though teachers may not teach morale as the main subject, the air they exude should always carry a certain poise to be valued as role models for these learners. For example, only when Steve Jobs managed to improve his social demeanor that his company, Apple, started to thrive more than ever—as evident in the support he received at the launch of Apple’s computer, iMac, from Wozniak and Job’s previously estranged daughter. To sum up, educators should not only be a facilitator of knowledge but also endlessly foster their students in character developments. The latter is a vital key for these students to be able to transform into a responsible member of society in their futures.