Television programs with violent scenes should be banned. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Mass media, such as television, has a strong influence om society with the content it is sharing. Nowadays, there is a wide variety of entertainment available for everyone who seeks it, even though not every show is suitable for everyone. For instance, some people believe that graphic brutal scenes should be censored while others doubt this motion would be effective. It is widely assumed that children and adolescents should be kept innocent and free from violent and ugly images. Moreover, it is suggested that children who view violent programs on television are susceptible to aggressive behavior compared to other children who do not. Case in point, the perpetrators in the recent American school shootings confessed that they were merely imitating the seemingly heroic clips they watched in movies and television. Needless to say, these unfortunate juvenile have yet to develop a sense to distinguish the right and wrong information. On the other hand, the glimpse of a much harsher reality could provide a great source of information and education. Under careful guidance, exposing children to more adult themes could help them grow to be independent and more equipped to cope later in life. In addition, ratings have shown that mature content that contains violence to be more interesting to watch, and therefore television stations are more eager to produce those type of shows. If television stations are prohibited to air those, it will mean a violation of television’s, as a form of media, freedom of speech. Moreover, denying these programs will result in a decline of viewers that could catastrophically prompt the end of television. In short, forbidding mature content will be futile for any party involved. All television programs are proven to be beneficial especially for children, albeit under wise counsel.