Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, to travel or to work. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some pupils take a year break after finishing their high school studies for travelling or working before they register in a university. On the one hand, there are some profits for high school graduates who decide to enter the job market or travel for a year before enrolling university.  When young students travel, they can know various people and cultures and because of that, gain valuable experiences and their horizons broaden at an appropriate age.  Consequently, travelling makes students mature, which is effective in their better performance at the university.  For instance, many students enter college with little idea of what they want to study or do after graduation.  Another positive outcome is that while working young people can discover their favorite job, they will choose their field of study more consciously because they are in the job market. They can also handle the money they earn during this year to cover their university fees. However, the one-year gap between school and university has potential downsides for students. First,  students who work after graduation from school obtain a sense of financial independence, which lead them to prefer staying in the job market to study academically at the university.  Second, a year of travel will cost a large amount of money for young students. According to the "New York Times", a three-month trip can cost up to $10, 000.  Moreover,  returning to college after a gap year can feel awkward.  A one-year break causes students to stay away from the subjects and the academic environment and as a result, forget much material, which will challenge them to begin the university and take the entrance exams. In conclusion, despite some negative aspects, in my opinion the benefits of a gap year are more significant for the reasons mentioned.