Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one

Mobile phones are essential for every person today and even students in school use it across the world. While these devices are beneficial for safety and learning, the question is should it be allowed in the school premises. In my opinion ban on mobile phones is a positive step for academics, social and physical learning. Restricting phone use in classroom can improve learning. This is simply because no mobile phones mean fewer distractions for students and teachers. These devices can cause distractions in between a lesson due to constant notifications and the urge to check the phone repeatedly. Even teachers cannot restrict every student to stop checking their phones. This effects in slow learning or very less attention span due to which the lesson is not perfectly understood. If the learning is not appropriate it will impact how the student performs in the exam and can also affect grades. Hence banning of these devices can promote efficient learning in the classroom and better academic future. Even while in playgrounds or other gatherings in school use of mobile phones can restrict social and physical development of kids. Because of constant notification and checking of phones, kids are less inclined towards physical activities and even don’t want to interact with other students or discuss topics with friends. No physical work can affect the personality and health of a child, also minimal interaction can lead to no social circle and social anxiety. Hence with no phones around kids can enjoy time with their friends and get involved in physical activities which is essential for a healthy life. Although mobile phones are very important these days in terms of safety and development aspects yet in school premises a ban on mobile phones can be backed. This step can promote efficient learning and help in shaping better future for the kids both academically and socially.