Some say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their spare time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Utilizing free time in a fruitful manner is really crucial particularly for children. It is believed by some people that parents should indulge their kids in organized group activities in the free time. However, some think that a child should be trained to remain busy in his own interests. I strongly agree with the former statement as it brings more benefits later in their lives. On one hand, engaging children in organized group activities in leisure time is likely to produce more confident, skillful and environmentally adjustable adults. It’s because when a child socializes with other children of varied interests and thoughts; they exchange ideas with one another, tend to adopt new things out of their comfort zone and enhance communication skills that assist in dealing with people of different mindsets. Therefore, teaming children into groups and allowing them to enjoy their free hours would not only help them professionally, but also help in their personal lives as it changes the overall personality of the human being. On the other hand, advocates of the belief that a child should be trained in a way that they can remain engaged in their spare time, are also correct up to some extent. It is due to the fact that no one is going to live with us forever, hence a child should know how to spend the time when no one is around. For instance, nowadays, many parents wish to send their children abroad for higher studies, but if a child would not be well trained to act independently, it will become difficult for him to adjust alone. In conclusion, even though both concepts have their advantages, I personally believe that involving young ones in organized group activities in their spare time provides more benefits in the adult phase of life.