Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as increasing retirement age with an increase in life expectancy rate, especially in the past few decades. Although there is substantial debate over whether the retirement age should be increased for people who live longer or vice versa, I am of the opinion that the former preposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of benefits can be attributed to the increase in retirement age. On one hand, by giving them opportunity to work more than the retire age empowers people to be financially independent and reduces the burden of government and society to meet after the retirement expenses of aged people. On the other, with increasing retirement age not only can organization take advantage of expertise knowledge and skills of senior employees to impart training to the newcomers, but it can also help to adopt decent strategies from their specialisation to enhance the productivity. There is no doubt that all these merits of increasing the retirement age will hold senior people in good stead as far as their invaluable experience is concerned. For example, experience of senior doctors, managers and lawyers is much needed in complexed situations where youngsters seek guidance of experts and highly skilled persons. Admittedly it is true that an increase in retirement age will lessen the job opportunities for youngsters who are highly creative and have technical skills and risk-taking qualities and one cannot dismiss the deleterious effects associated with it. However, these drawbacks appear to be insignificant against the deluge of benefits that increase in retirement age at workplace offers. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding the retirement age at workplace. Nevertheless, I feel that the role of increase in the employment tenure for senior people in becoming more self-dependent at old age is an instrumental indeed.