Some Psychologists Recommend That It Is Important To Overcome Stress By Doing Nothing

These days, the hectic lifestyle has increased the stress level among people. A few psychologists suggest that one of the ways to get rid of stress is to stay idle for some time. In my opinion, stress is preventing us from enjoying our happy moments and inviting acute diseases. I strongly agree with the argument that stealing some time from daily chores to give rest to your mind, helps in reducing the stress level. To begin with, the brain, like any other human body part, needs time to repair the damaged tissues. The brain works in a manner similar to a machine. And if we overload it with numerous activities, then it will collapse at one stage. Therefore, we need to give it rest by taking some time-off. In a recent survey it was found that people who work more than 14 hours a day are 80% more likely to die in their 50s. On the other hand, there are many benefits to doing nothing. By not engaging in any work, we can divert our mind towards good old memories. It releases good hormones in our body. These feel good hormones refresh our mind and provide extra energy. Also we can use this time to converse with the family members. It contributes to developing strong bond among family members. For example, studies have shown that people who spend a lot of time with their family have considerably reduced risk of developing cardiac problems. In conclusion, stress is like a termite. It not only kills the present joy but also ruins future plans. Hence, it is not healthy to constantly focus on our life goals. An occasional break from these priorities will help to alleviate stress and bring peace to mind and life.