Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Zoos remain popular places for people to visit for entertainment and learn about wildlife. Although certain individuals assert that zoos can provide a sanctuary for jeopardized animals and so should be kept open, it is believed that the cruelty that animals suffer outweighs this benefit, and that they should be shut down. Nowadays, animals are under threat from humans in numerous ways, seen for example in the way that their habitats are being destroyed by human activities, such as cutting down of rain forests. Following on from this, the arguments is that zoos can preserve some of these animals which are in jeopardy. The rationale is that they are in a safe environment managed by trained staff who can ensure that the animals are looked after and can produce offspring. There are examples of successes in this respect, such as with Pandas, which have been protected, even if they have been endangered for many years. Nevertheless, there are more convincing arguments for why zoos should be shut down. First and foremost, although several species are under threat, there are numerous animals which do not fall into this category and who are there just for the entertainment of visitors. While it may be interesting and educational to see them, animals are not meant to be caged, and their distress can frequently be seen in the way many of them pace back and forwards all day. Not only this, if the major reason of zoos is to protect animals. This could be done in other environment, such as animal sanctuaries where provide them with freedom and comfort. In conclusion, animals are required to be protected. However, this does not have to be in zoos. They are cruel to animals, not similar enough to their natural habitat, and they should be closed down.