Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There seems to have varied perceptions of whether zoos are appropriate and acceptable habitats for wild animals. On the other hand, people debate that keeping animals in zoos is not, while on the other hand, a group of people finds many advantages in having zoos. The zoo is not a suitable place for wild animals. Firstly, most wildlife animals require a more spacious and appropriate area to freely move around. For instance, tigers, giraffes, zebras, lions, bears, and others need a sufficient area to live where they can freely hunt and display their freedom. Despite this need and some zoos’ effort, most of them are incapable of providing this requirement. Second, temperature is a factor that needs to be considered. Some animals can live in a warm environment whereas others do not. However, a few wildlife parks are situated in a cold environment, which makes it difficult for some animals which are used to the warm weather. This brings the animals to suffer from certain diseases related to this. Finally, under this aspect, being exposed to a large number of people makes it uncomfortable for most zoo animals as these animals' mentality and well-being will be disturbed. It can’t be denied that zoos have a lot of disadvantages as well. It cannot be denied that zoos have a lot of advantages as well. To begin with, a zoo is a perfect place for children to learn about wildlife and nature. Therefore, zoos are important for educational purposes. In addition to that, universities and researchers are usually in close cooperation with zoos in order to save endangered species. Furthermore, keeping wild animals in zoos is also an option to save animals that are threatened by illegal hunters or, for instance, by deforestation. Personally, I think that there is a substance in both views. However, all things considered, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Although I agree that there are some negative aspects such as inhuman conditions, more positive aspects can be found. Therefore, things like saving animals from illegal hunters and educating our children are the main arguments why we all should be in favor of having zoos.