Some people think that using animals for food and transportation should be completely banned. On the other hand, other people believe that using animals for meat and experiments is fair.

Human dependency on animals means killing to survive; abstaining from it could mean suicide from the human standpoint. Whereas survival needs may justify animals’ meat consumption and animal exploitation, others question the necessity for such cannibal behavior in the 21st century. Animal meat consumption, exploitation, and testing of any kind should be prohibited because it is a cruel, inefficient form to fulfill human necessities. Animal use as food supply or transport is inhumane due to the infliction of suffering to the animal. It is very unlikely to considered variables such as emotions when it comes to animals. Nevertheless, animals per se are genetically like humans and feel pain when sacrificed for food production or used for heavy loads’ carrying. Animals’ wellbeing is compromised early in their lives, even in the favorable conditions of some farms. Animals’ husbandry brings suffering to animals. For instance, cows milked regularly experience pain and face being set apart from their calves, which causes emotional distress. Hence, animal protection is the right thing to do to avoid animal suffering or torture by any stretch. In spite, some sectors see as necessary extended animal use for food supply and experimentation. Commonly, most of the population are oblivious of how their diets or makeup products are related to animal pain. Still, the reports show that only 5% of the human population follows a vegetable-based diet, which evidences the human dependence on meat. Additionally, some among the scientific community claim that human trials would take longer without animal testing. However, animals are not indispensable for these processes since there are alternatives to animal intake and experimentation, such as vegetable-based diets and artificial organ experimentations. In conclusion, animal exploitation is cruel and unnecessary for human survival. Therefore, animal protection is vital to spare pain to them by developing better practices for food production, transportation, and medical testing for humans. Now is the time to promote changes that will be beneficial for both humans and animals.