Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There are some opinions that respond to the motion of what is actually the true function of the university. The first side says that the university should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. And the second side says that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. In my point of view, I believe that the university should give graduates skills and knowledge for their job skills in the workplace. The main function of the university should be to pour the students with the ability and knowledge that will be useful to be used in their future job. The big reason why students enrol at the university is they want to get the essential skills for their dream jobs. For example, a student who wants to be a doctor applies for medical faculty. And he must aim that all of the essential skills and knowledge will he earns from the university. He will expect the lecturers of the medical faculty teach him how to understand the patient, how to make medicine receipt, how to figure out what is actually the patient’s disease, and how to help the patient to avoid the disease. Otherwise, if the university does not give the knowledge and skills that the students need in the workplace, it will lose credibility in society’s mind. On the other side, the opinion that says that the true function of the university is just to give access to knowledge, there will be no big difference between learning by our self and attend the class in the university. As the result, students will think that they are wasting time and money to attend university. Moreover, if the university does not care whether if it will be useful for an employee or not, it means that they are losing empathy and sense to educate the students. In conclusion, the university should give students the essential value and ability that they will need in their dream job. Moreover, the main purpose of why students attend university is to use knowledge for their future job.