Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead.

It has been a matter of intense debate for quite some time now as to what should be done with old buildings? Some opine that it is futile to spend money on restoration and it would be better to build modern ones instead. I partially agree with this view. I believe that old buildings which are neither beautiful nor useful should be demolished whereas those buildings which add character to a place, give it a unique identity or have significant historical importance should be repaired and restored at any cost. There are many arguments in favor of demolishing the old buildings which are rather not helpful and good-looking. The maintenance costs of such buildings which are in a bad shape are comparatively higher than the deterioration costs and building new ones instead. It is not uncommon to hear news on mass media that a building in a particular city is crumbled killing a few people. Such buildings should be knocked down without considering the emotional values of the owners. Another reason is that the new buildings can be demolished and rebuilt to accommodate more space for the visitors. These buildings could also be made to be energy efficient by newer technologies which could save a lot of energy at a later stage. For example, double glass panels for insulation and solar panels for electricity can be installed. All these measures are the need of the hour considering the rapidly growing climate changes and the burgeoning population. On the other hand, however, a few old buildings give a unique identity to a place and a little maintenance can be used effectively even today. There are many live examples of the old buildings that have been converted to hotels and inns for tourists. For instance, City Palace, Udhaipur comprises a number of small palaces within the compound, and it is a magnificent piece of architecture that serves a good purpose. Old houses, palaces in Jodhpur, Rajasthan have been converted to cottages that accommodate the influx of tourists and are a good source of revenue for the government, thereby, retaining a lot of historical and cultural monuments. In conclusion, the decision to preserve or demolish an old building should be based on several factors. If the old buildings can be made into a tourist attraction or can give a unique identity to that place or can be used efficiently, then they can be preserved. If a building is occupying a lot of space and is unfit to maintain, then it should be torn down.