Some people think that those who start a career and keep working in that same field for years are going to have a more satisfying work life than those who keep changing jobs.

There is a very well-known study that concluded that it takes 10, 000 hours of practice to master any new ability. So, some level of consistency seems to be necessary to succeed in any field of work. However, in my opinion, succeeding does not always translates to a more satisfying work life. Professionals that stay in the same field will have the opportunity to specialize, to build a strong network and to acquire relevant experiences that may lead to promotion opportunities. This type of person will probably have a more stable financial life, therefore will be able to plan and invest in long term goals. On the other hand, someone that is constantly changing jobs acquire soft skills that are precious nowadays. The capability to rapidly adapt to new environments, to be a fast learner, to communicate to a variety of types of personalities and generations. These professionals are fearless, and this can be liberating. Someone with this type of personality will not stay in a job or even in the same field out of fear. They are more likely to be proactive in looking for opportunities that bring personal satisfaction. To conclude, keep working in the same field can bring stability, but not always satisfaction. So, there is a higher probability that a professional that changes constantly would be happier. Also, this type of personality is more aligned with the future and will probably be capable to adapt when it´s needed. They will probably suffer less with the fast pace changings that are happening and will be able to innovate and reinvent themselves whenever is needed.