Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people's private life while other's think it should be controlled?

With the advent of technology, information is prevalent on all media platforms. As a result, it has been opined by a section of society that these platforms particularly newspapers have the authority to write about the personal information of individuals, whereas different sections hold that it has to be regulated. This essay agrees with the latter and will elaborate on both views by providing illustrations from India, as well as Germany in the subsequent paragraphs. Society is fraught with fraudulent personalities, such as drug dealers, terrorists; therefore, revealing their nationality, family, or cult forms the picture of them in mind which, in turn, informs the civilized citizens to stay alert. Besides that, if such details will not be published then they might be surrounded by innocent residents, and it would be impossible to catch them. As a result, the world will not only be more secured but also cognizant. For instance, in Germany, the two-year-old study by ‘The Berliners’ claimed that 40% of offenders are caught by the common people who report to the police by reading the newspaper article and identifying them in their surroundings; therefore, in case of the offenses, it might be beneficial. is this always the case? Certainly not, in fact, a multitude of paparazzi are available these days in front of the eminent personalities’ home, thereby, extracting every intricate detail of their life. Despite the fact that they are affluent and popular, they do have privacy. Considering a recent scenario of the Sushant Singh Rajput case, where a b-class actress, Rhea was suspected to be the murder; however, proved innocent in the end. Yet every newspaper article published such horrendous articles about her like she does black magic or takes drugs rather than actually informing the readers about the case. Unless this will not be curbed by the authorities similar practices will continue in the future, consequently, leading to dire repercussions like depression or suicidal thoughts among the accused. Thus, the government must govern the publishers to not harm the privacy of individuals. In conclusion, although publishers are supposed to enlighten the nation by providing essential details about the notorious offenders, this can have adverse ramifications on the accused who are not guilty, hence it must be regulated.