Some people think that teenagers should do some unpaid work in the local community. Some people believe that it benefit both young people and society as a whole.

Whether or not teenagers should take participant in different voluntary community work has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that this practice is beneficial for both individuals and society. This essay will discuss why I completely agree with this idea even though there are some minor and potential challenges associated with it. The crucial beneficial factor of getting youngsters involved in various voluntary community service, such as neighborhood activities and charity work is that it enables children to better understand the responsibility as a local citizen as children tend to learn some moral values including compassion, equality and respect more easily and effortlessly while helping others. Additionally, our society can be positively affected if people can be more aware of these values. To illustrate, a recent research conducted in Japan has revealed that children who had voluntary work experience can be more patient and respectful to others. Therefore, doing unpaid community service is significant for young people’s personal development. However, every coin has two sides. One main negative consequence of this development is that people’s inner desire to help others could be reduced if we turn this into a mandatory program because many teenagers may see this as a subject that they have to do in order to graduate. Take myself for example, I joined some neighborhood services when I was a student and I didn’t understand the real purpose of doing this, as a result I didn’t take it seriously. For this reason, young people could also be adversely affected by this. To sum up, people’s opinion towards unpaid community work is various. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that doing some unpaid community work is absolute imperative that is entirely justified despite the small and occasional challenges involved.