Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible.

Food policies have become a highly complex issue globally. Some perceive that a nation should focus mainly on the internal supply chain to keep prices under control and feeding excessively poor citizens, I personally strongly contend them due to financial factors. This essay will delve deeply into both the opinions to underpin my perspective. To begin with, exploring the global market is more profitable for agricultural producers because they can get a better value for their products there as compared to selling locally, where the demand is usually dominated by the production during peak seasons. Secondly, it provides a healthy chance to earn some foreign currency to cover trade deficits for a country and strengthen its economy. For instance, according to recent empirical data presented by Indonesian government, it has achieved surplus international trade target due to earning billions through exporting rice and maize to middle east nations in return to fossil fuels. Therefore, exporting food and grain is economically beneficial for business point of view. On the other hand, banning export of farming products is widely considered in the favour of local consumers as it enables them to buy these essential edible goods at a reasonably low price due to more availability than demand. For example, bread and milk have been de-priced by 2%in the UK since the authorities prohibited export to other European nations. Moreover, there are some homeless hungry people in every society and it is recognised as the first priority of a state to feed its own citizens rather than dispensing anywhere elsewhere for monetary benefits. In this way, considering local buyers and the ethical duty of the bureaucracy, they ought not to be exporting edible farming produce. In the end, looking at both the sides, although a state is bound to maintain healthy food storage for internal customers, economically, it is good to access foreign markets