Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

The issue of whether we should attempt to punish severely offensive drivers is certainly a contentious one. Despite the arguments of some people that there must be strict punishment to reduce such crimes, it is my personal belief that they should be more educational attempt to reach that goal. In this essay, I aim to discuss both views. On the one hand, those who support punitive strategy, believe that the fear of heavy consequences such as a large amount of fine or even driver license invalidation could prevent people from doing illegal activities. They have a harsh standpoint even for minor crimes. These people do not consider the root of such illegal activities and only want to force criminals a hard way to obey traffic rules. The other side of this debate held the perception there are reasons for each action. Moreover, they believe prevention is more effective than punishment. In other words, if we prevent a bad event we take more advantages than punishing offenders when the bad event has happened. They say if there be more awareness of the importance and the necessity of such rules, especially when they are subconsciouses during school years, then the community will have more law-abiding citizens and much fewer traffic accidents and their repercussions. Overall, I would tend to side with the who support non-harsh policy solutions. It seems to be more reasonable to educate for prevention than legislation for something that can be repeated over and over due to the lack of awareness.