Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

There are different views about the effectiveness of strict punishment and other measures in reducing traffic accidents. While some argue that many other methods play more crucial roles in improving road safety, I believe that punishment is the most effective way. It is argued that some methods can substitute punishment to develop road safety. In particular, education is an excellent consider, not only the imparting of skills about how to drive, but also education towards citizens of the importance of road safety and terrible consequence after an accident. This education can wake up the awareness of considering both driver themselves and others when they are on road. In this case, they will not pick up a phone call when they are driving, or accelerate to pass a cross for time-saving when the traffic light turns. Alternatively, reward can also be seen as a support to abating accidents, people may pay more attention when they are driving. This reward can be done by providing a discount of car-washing payment. However, i would argue that these measures are not as effective as a hard punishment. People have a worry about being punished, which is the most effective incentive for drivers to behave themselves. Under this condition, drivers will focus more, reduce the probability of sleepy-driving. Besides, they will be careful to keep a safe distance with the paceman that the chance of accident happening will decrease. In addition, this worry about being punished can stop some illegal behaviors including drive after drunk at the begining. In conclusion, I can understand why there are views think other measures could work for accident preventing, but it seems to me that stick punishment play the most crucial role in it.