Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

The growing trend of exorbitant expenditures for the celebration of special occasions and milestones in the life of individuals and society has not been without reservations from some school of thoughts. Whiles these events live long lasting memories to the celebrants and partakers, I am of the view that it is somewhat unnecessary owing to economic reasons. Given that it is very nice to throw very big birthday parties, wedding and other celebrations for a day or some days, one must also consider how sustainable it could be. I had the opportunity to be a groomsman to friend who was getting married to the daughter a rich man. While the prospective father in-law was indifferent about the nature of the event, his wife was influencing her daughter to ensure the wedding ceremony was classy, the couple eventually had to go for loan from the bank to be able to marry the lady and please the mother-in-law. This marriage started off with huge debts, for the couple and this young man, was now going to rent an apartment and buy a car. They were always quarrelling at home because they did not plan financially. I will at any day accede to a low budget and moderate celebration of events and be mindful of the effect of my action on the larger society.