SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT SCIENTISTS MAKE THE MOST IMPORTANT CONTRIBUTION TO SOCIETY. OTHERS THINK THAT THE CONTRIBUTIONS FOF ARTISTS ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT.

It is predicted that the birth rate of the majority of advanced countries will drop in the next 50 years. It is forecasted that by the end of 2030, more than 30% of the population in those countries will be aged 65 and above. The following essay will discuss what will happen if the prediction is true, and some of the solutions that can be done immediately to address the issue. Many experts are predicting that in the next 50 years about one-third of the people in developed countries will be the elderly generation. For a number of reasons, the ageing population and scarcity of the working class population will become a serious problem for those countries. Firstly, they will face a lack of productive people problem which is important for economic development. With the shortage of productive labourers and professionals, it will be difficult for them to boost the economic sector, as factories will face difficulties in recruiting productive workers. Secondly, as the number of the senior people will be increasing in the future, it means that the government will be spending more. The government will need additional funds for their pension plan, retirement house and medication facilities. Consequently, the government might increase the tax rate, which will become a burden for the young generation. There are some soluble solutions that governments could consider to prevent the negative consequences of this issue. One of them is that by providing additional facilities for their residents to have children at an earlier age. It is a fact that most of the people in advanced countries have children in their late thirties or early forties. By having children in their mid-twenties, it will shorten the time gap between the senior and the young people. Another solution is by giving subsidies and tax exemptions for families that have young children. It is hoped that it will trigger families to have more children in their young age. Lastly, these countries could also accept young and productive immigrants from other countries who are qualified and well educated. Many advanced countries have done this, such as Australia, New Zealand and Canada and the immigrants have had a positive impact on the economic growth of these countries. In conclusion, many people are predicting that most developed countries will face ageing problem in the future. It is obvious that the ageing problem might become a serious treat for them, especially in their economic sectors and in the social formation. However, there are some solutions that governments could consider, and some of them are by persuading their people to having more children in the young age and accepting qualified immigrants from other countries.