Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

How to teach social skills to children has been a controversial issue in our society. In particular, It is crucial to examine that whether parents are responsible for or it is only school’s own duty. When children begin to attend school, they face a great society they have never seen before. The society require them to have sociality that enable mutual actions with their teachers and fellow friends. Through a great many experiences and mistakes in school, most of them learn and have competence in mutuality. Yet, on this view that only school can be a place for teaching socialization, a critical demerit can be overlooked. Children come to be socialized from their mistakes. This means that they can behave badly one another. Also this means that they even can hurt somebody in the experiences. Some mistakes would not be as grave as hurt someone, but a few ones, even causing a trauma, can be severe not only mentally but also physically threats to each other. It is called “school violence”. In order to prevent demerits i argued above, should be preceded the social educations before children start their school lives. Particularly, since the family is a first society what people belong to, parents play seriously important roles of teaching socialization. They have dual roles as friends and teacher to their children. Therfore, they can show how to deal friendship, to express emotions, to convey ideas, to contribute to communities and etc. On the basis of these learning, children can adapt their school lives more easily without severe mistakes. To sum up, for the reasons discussed above, I advocate that parents are responsible for teaching social skills to their children.