Some people think that it s important to follow traditions even if they are different from individuals interests Others believe that individuals preferences are more essential than traditions Which view do you agree with and why

There is no doubt that human beings live as a social animal for such a long history, which it has produced many diverse communities and cultures. Each culture has a well-known traditions and rules which dynamically transfer to next generation. There is a heated debate that if we should stick to our traditions or we do not have to follow them strictly. In my opinion, we should not oblige us to follow our traditions tightly. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will elaborate on them in following essay. First, many of these traditions do not have a logical reason behind them. Many of instructions and traditions are time-limited and they were practical and useful only for a specific time. If we want to follow them just because they have respected by our predecessors, without thinking and criticizing those traditions, we could not benefit and surely hurt our life. To put this in a more vivid picture, in our country, Iran, we have many unreasonable rules about marriage which destroy the relationship of boys and girls not only before the marriage bot after living together as well. Just as a few, boys should pay an enormous amount of money before marriage to his bride's family, that is not affordable for many of young adults. Then, if we have to follow these bad traditions, whole community will suffer in a long run. Second, many of those traditions were belong to old time and with this high-pace revolutionary changes in the world they are a bottle-neck in the process of development of countries. Thanks to technological advancement, people from all cross of the world connect so easily and fast. Their cultural insight and traditions could not keep this pace and works as an obstacle when they want to communicate. To have an efficient and productive communication, people should consider a bigger perspective with an open mind about their and other people traditions. As an example, I remember when I moved to Boston, as a new comer, I found that there is a massive difference between my traditions and cultural insight with this new American culture. To adopt this new lifestyle, I have no choice but to omit many of my cultural traditions included foods, customs, and ideas, to accept and being accepted in this new culture. As we can see, many of traditions can hurt intercultural communication if we stick to them. In sum, I strongly believe that we do not have to follow our traditions strictly. This is because many of those traditions are out of date and banned people to have a better life and because they are an important obstacle when people with different cultural backgrounds want to communicate with each other if we do not have an open mind.