Some people believe that zoos are cruel so that they should be closed. However, some people hold the belief that these place are actually in terms of animal protection.

A particular issue about zoos has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. Zoos are believed to be brutal and cruel for animals, while some people consider zoos are shelters to give animals protections. In my opinion, it is necessary to look at the inherent details on both sides and leading to a plausible conclusion. On the one hand, it is widely concerned that exhibiting animals is inhumanity because zoos might limit their liberty and narrow the space for activities. This can cause profound repercussions on these species, and contribute to some detrimental illnesses to animals. Additionally, caging wild animals eternity can gradually exploit their innate ability for hunting and survival. For example, for those animals which stay in zoos for a while, their extrinsic ability can gradually be wiped out, thus despite some of them might set free into wild habitats, wild can seem to be extremely unfamiliar and also drop their chance to survive when facing predators. On the other hand, the aforementioned beliefs can be opposed by some individuals. For one thing, zoos can not only serve as entertainment but also offer shelters for wild species. As some animals are injured that might be too severe to survive in the wild. Therefore, zoos can provide them with securities as well as a warm place to live. For instance, some organizations conduct expeditions to search for those injured species, which then take them back and offer medical health cares to expand their life expectancy. For another, those animals in zoos can provide precious information for scientists. Since zoos give protection for animals and endangered species, hence it is easier for scientists to do researches to pin down the reason for extinction as well as take a glance at these fascinating animals. In a nutshell, I consider that despite zoos are sometimes cruel to animals, with the rise of public awareness of these species, zoos have changed and can use for a kaleidoscope of purposes, ranging from providing securities for animals to scientific purposes.