Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Hosting an international sports event can be exciting for a country. Skilled champions come to compete and your country can gain popularity and tourism. However, it can be argued that hosting an international sports event is bad. We are going to talk about the benefits and the disadvantages of hosting an international sports event, then we will conclude whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, it has its disadvantages. Hosting an international sports event can be expensive. Usually, the cost estimates are very low compared to the actual costs and many governments end up in debt they cannot pay off from hosting the event alone. Also, after the event is over, many projects and jobs will be left behind as the demand suddendly dies. Another complaint is traffic. The athletes will have to be safely transported and many other important people, therefore motorcades can block the traffic for a few weeks. Also, only a few will benefit economically whereas small business which are not involved may go bankrupt as they lose customers to big companies which are going to leave anyway, leaving the city without jobs or services. On the other hand, it can be benefitial. When hosting a sports event, the infrastructure of the city will be improved to meet standards. Roads will be smoothly paved, communication services will improve and many other services which benefit the locals as well. Also, the city can become an attractive destination as it receives free advertisement froim the sports event. This can help the local economy, such as small businesses. After the event, a lot of leftover equipement, accomedation and other things will become cheap to buy and live on. For example, the stadium would be paid off, therefore hosting local events will have low costs. Also, internet and phone services will be cheap as the newly built infrastructure is paid off and improved, therefore helping individuals and businesses alike. Overall, it is debatable whether an international sports event is good for the country or not. However, it can be argued that it is benefitial as overseas revenue, such as tourism and newly built infrastructure can help the locals and even the nation to have higher living standards, as there will be more money in the economy, more tourists and better infrastructure