Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Logistics are the blood vessels of the country. Well-designed roads are a crucial part of infrastructure. With the rapid growth of population, prioritization of public transport systems have become increasingly common in recent years. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of this problem. On the one hand, because of the budget cuts, there would be no money left for the construction of new routes, because everything will be enough only for the life support of the old ones. In our time, this is critical, because the process of urbanization is in full swing, so cities are gradually expanding. For the planning and construction of new roads, the government will need money from the budget, which will lead to a violation of the balance and the roads will be worse monitored. Therefore, cutting off the sponsorship of the road industry can cause significant problems in the city and the government will have to choose between maintaining roads and building new ones. On the other hand, we live in densely populated cities and the number of inhabitants is growing rapidly every day. Due to this, focusing on the development of public transport is a more effective solution, because public buses and subways fit many more people than in the cars. For instance, an average bus can hold up to 40 people, while the same number of people will need at least 30 cars, if we assume that not everyone goes alone. So, the load on the road might decrease and the number of traffic jams would sharply reduce. Thanks to public transport, people can get anywhere much faster. According to the facts, widening roads to reduce traffic jams only makes it worse. For example, the authorities of Los Angeles in the last century tried this idea. Despite this, the load on the roads has not only decreased, but even increased. Because of huge roads and unusable public transport, more and more people bought personal vehicles. Even now, it is impossible to live in this city without your own car. Hence, the development of public transport is a more effective and convenient method of improving infrastructure and living of people. Overall, the government should find a balance in the investing in roads industry, because it could lead to the numerous problems which I wrote about before. Besides, I believe that development of public transportation systems is the best way to create people comfortable place to live.