Some people think that having a university degree is the key to a great job, while others think that gaining experience and improving soft skills is the best way to get a good job. pagom

Some people think that having a university degree is the key to a great job, while others think that gaining experience and improving soft skills is the best way to get a good job. In my opinion, even though having a university degree plays an important role in finding a good job, having experience and great soft skills are more important. On the one hand, people may think that a university degree on a CV looks really great and furthermore increases the chance of getting hired. In other words, an undergraduate degree is the key to being employed. Getting into a high class university and completing a bachelor’s degree show one’s effort and dedication in a specific field. Therefore, it is a great proof of one’s capabilities and HR people may give privilege to those who have a university degree when they are looking for a perfect match for the open positions. On the other hand, having experience and great soft skills are becoming more important than ever for people who are hiring. In other words, experience and great soft skills show one’s capability to cope and handle possible problems and issues that one may come across. Soft skills, namely leadership and feeling empathy, are considered to be key to success in workplaces. Thus, these skills are very desirable for a potential candidate and may increase the chances of getting hired. In addition to soft skills, experience is also a very important indicator of one’s way of doing business and sector knowledge. In other words, people with great soft skills and strong experience may be more desirable than a candidate with a university degree. In conclusion, getting a good job may require different skills or background depending on the sector and field. Some jobs in the business market may give priority to academic background, while others give priority to experience and soft skills. Therefore, people looking for a job opportunity should define the requirements of their desired job before applying for it.