Some people think that a sense of competition on children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather that compete become more useful adults.

People have different views whereas the children should be taught to be competitive or co-operative. While a sense of competition can sometimes be useful in life, I believe that co-operative is far more important. On the one hand, competition can be a great source motivation for children. When teachers use games and prizes to introduce the element of competitiveness into lesson, it will encourage students to try hard to compete other students in class. This kind of healthy rivalry may help to build children’s self-confidence, while pushing them to work independently and progress quickly, when these children leave the school their self-confidence and determination will help them competitive situations such as job interviews. It can therefore be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children for adult life. On the other hand, perhaps it is more important to prepare children for many aspects of adult life that require co-operation. In the workplace, adults are expected to work in teams, follow instructions given by their superiors, or supervise and support the more junior members of staff. Team collaboration skills are much more useful than a competitive determination to win. This is the attitude that I believe schools should foster in young people. Instead of promoting the idea that people are either winner or loser, teachers could shoe children that they gain more from working together. In conclusion, I can understand that why people might want to encourage competitiveness in children, but it seems to me that a co-operative attitude is much more desirable in adult life.