Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

While it is often thought that the science of food and ways of its preparation is beneficial for students, other people consider that a more crucial subject ought to substitute these lessons in a curriculum. In my opinion, the knowledge of food and cooking skills are important for everyone as proper nutrition is vital for staying healthy. On the one hand, some people believe that more complex subjects ought to be taught. They are in the belief that other disciplines are more important owing to the fact that people rarely earn money by making food. Moreover, students will acquire all the necessary cooking skills and knowledge about food anyway, they say. Hence, it is useless to waste time on that subject, when natural science, math or foreign languages might be taught instead. For instance, students of the UK high schools spend more time on food-related subjects than on financial basics. On the other hand, people consider that everyone has to be familiar with the food preparation techniques as making meals is one of the most frequent activity for everyone. Consequently, teaching this subject will benefit the maximal number of people and thus ought to be prioritised over other disciplines. Moreover, having expertise in what food is good for health and what ways of preparation are preferred is also advantageous for the vast majority of students. In fact, a recent study conducted in the USA confirmed that people with at least basic knowledge of food science consume fast food two times rarer. Moreover, their nutrition is highly possible to be more appropriate. Personally, I support this viewpoint and believe that food lessons must be obligatory. In conclusion, despite people may vary in their opinions, I firmly believe that teaching food science and food preparation is beneficial and is a must for all students as it helps to develop proper nutrition habits.