Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Food constitutes a big part of our lives. Everyone of us eats and food is the fuel which allows us to do our daily activities. So it seems logical to ask ourselves: if food is such an important matter, why is it never covered during school lessons? Especially in this time, the conversation about food has widely spread. A frequent topic on social media is the one regarding "healthy foods" and diet cultures. While some of things said may be true, there a lot more which not only are false, but also dangerous. Teaching science of food and how to prepare it at school would give the students the instruments to understand better which things are reliable and which things are not. It would also make them capable to make food choices relying on their own experience and needs, not on the experiences of "food gurus" on the Internet, who might be well-intentioned but they are certainly not aware of the situation of each person who follow them. Learning about food could also help the students to build a better relationship with it: learning the basics of food could hopefully help destroy every myth which has been spread about food. For example, that carbs are evil and should be avoided at all cost. This should be a very important goal for schools, especially now that people have become more aware of the existence and the risks of eating disorders. Thirdly, having a better relationship with food, knowing how to prepare it in different ways could also result in relying less on delivery. It may sound stupid, but it people had the ability to cook and prepare food in a way that satisfies them, they would tend to order food less. This would have benefits not only for their health, especially in the case they order fast-food, but also for their finances. In fact, learning about food and how to prepare it allows people to manage better their groceries shopping, resulting in saving some money. However, some people may argue that food science is an unnecessary subject to be taught in school. That there are more important things that students need to learn. This may be true: school is most of the times already difficult, without taking time from other subjects to teach a new one. Is it worth it subtracting time from subject like history, which teaches us what came before us, or math, which shapes our mind and allows us to reflect more logically, to make space for a subject which may be easily learned from books or asking parents? The adults in the life of students not always have the means and the ability to teach math or history, at least after a certain level, but they surely deal with food. Why can't adults at home teach their children how to prepare food? Or why can't students themselves, if they are interested in the subject, educate themselves on their own? Unfortunately, this is many people and many schools' response on a variety of matters which involve a more "hand-on" approach to life. Many times in school students learn more theoretical subjects, which certainly allow them to build a culture for themselves and be more aware of the world around them, but without giving them any practical skills and instruments to face life after schools. Students after schools know how to solve difficult equations, but have no idea of how to file for taxes for example. It is time that people stop demonizing subjects that have a clear and practical connection to life outside of school and start to give young people better means to life and make adequate choices.