Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Nowadays, education is becoming a debatable topic. While a number of people are of the opinion that food science and preparation of different cuisines should be taught in schools, others believe that time should be invested on other relevant courses. In my opinion, Students should concentrate on sciences. This essay will discuss both notions as well as my opinion. To begin, the knowledge of the composition of food is very vital to young ones. It enables them to make healthy choices and combinations which eventually leads to the prevention of certain illnesses such as heart and liver disease. Likewise, learning how to cook a dish could be beneficial. This benefit also extends to the family in terms of its cost effectiveness. This means that they do not have to spend money on ordering from a restaurant. For example, in my country, most children are educated on the steps of cooking at a young age and as a result, grow up to become healthy. In addition, they save the cash that would otherwise have been spent on fast food. Hence, considering these crucial advantages, studying food composition and preparation is indispensable. Conversely, some individuals believe that pupils should rather spend their time on other subjects. These courses include, mathematics, physics and biology. This is because the science field in general creates more job opportunities. While those who learnt arts or food technology might spend so many years in search for a job, companies tend to offer employment to science students. Furthermore, people are more interested in solving life's problems and the practical field readily offers a solution. For instance, the challenge of communication has been solved by the invention of telephones. Therefore, these are the reasons why it is suggested that more energy be vested on other fields other than the nutrition sector. To conclude, although the advantages of food education are important, it is my personal opinion that students focus on beneficial subjects so as to be more relevant to the society and contribute to creating more solutions in their community.