In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future.

The ageing population is a challenge for any society, because it creates a pressure for a healthcare system. Although private healthcare insurance may partially solve this problem, there should be government support for people who cannot afford to buy a medicine insurase policy. Therefore, I moderately agree with the statement. On the one hand, when the number of elder people is outnumbering the number of young ones, it creates a significant burden on budget. The outflows for social needs are expanding, but the income tax inflows are shrinking, as more people need medicine care, but less people work. To exemplify, in socialistic countries, where a healthcare system was fully funded by a government, ageing of people created serious financial problems that leaded to collapse of many of these countries. Therefore, healthcare system should be funded not by the young generation’s taxes, but by the elder generation’s savings in a medicine insuranse system. On the other hand, not all people are able to purcase a medicine insurase policy even in countries with high incomes. There are many poor people who may be deprived of medicine care without public support. For example, about 10% of population in USA cannot affort to participate in a medicine insurance system. For such group of people public healthcare should be partially kept. In conclusion, while the system of private healthcare insurance may decrease financial pressure on the budget of a country where the population is ageing, it also may lead to the unavaiability of healthcare for the people with low income.