Some people think movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views about the purpose of watching films. While some people consider movies as a source of recreation, others propose that films also have educational value. This essay will discuss both views and from my perspective, watching films is a beneficial way to obtain knowledge and entertain. On the one hand, watching films is really a good way for people to amuse. It cannot be denied that nowadays, people have hectic schedules, so watching movies means people can temporarily escape from their daily work, which may help them relieve their stress and be mentally healthier. In addition, there are numerous sorts of genres of movies such as comedy or sitcom, which make people laugh more and think about their work less. On the other hand, people can broaden their horizon about cultural and educational value through films. The first rationale is that viewers can learn another language by watching foreign films. People have multiple chances to acquire new vocabularies and improve their listening skills through conversations in films. They can also imitate how the actors and actresses converse to sharpen their speaking skills. Another reason is that students can learn valuable lessons by watching movies. One good example to strengthen this argument is that watching a film about war may make people have a strong sense of patriotism for their country which could be seen as a positive educational effect. In conclusion, movies not only entertain people but also provide them with great educational benefits such as learning foreign languages and lessons about life.