More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

In this day and age, an increasing number of people tend to use their personal cars to commute, which can lead to some detrimental impacts on humans and the environment. This essay will discuss some problems of this phenomenon and propose a few appropriate measures to tackle this issue. One of the prominent issues related to this is that an increasing number of cars on the streets can lead to traffic congestion. This means that in the rush hour, it takes people a long time to wait and commute to work, which has disadvantageous effects on their work and life. One solution to this problem is for the government to raise the tax payment on cars or motorcycles and increase the price of petrol, which means that inhabitants have to pay lots of money to have their own cars. In this way, citizens might prefer using public transport than personal cars. In addition, administrations should improve the public transport services and offer a cheap price for residents, which might encourage them to use public transport more frequently. Another worrying problem is that the excessive use of private cars can lead to some issue about the environment. To illustrate, cars which run on petrol or diesel will release a large amount of harmful exhaust fume into the atmosphere, which has made the air become polluted. According to recent research, the air pollution index in Beijing exceeds the alarming level because there are lots of people using their own cars to commute. The feasible solution to this problem would be for city inhabitants to strive to reduce their dependence on cars. For instance, they can walk to the shops nearby whenever they need to buy groceries without driving, which not only helps reduce air pollution but also enhance their well-being. In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts have outlined the reasons as well as the measures of this issue. From my perspective, the responsibility for solving this problem lies with the government.