Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it is good o have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

During our lifetime we make lots of friends. There are various reasons why we become friendly to someone. Anyone with whom we feel comfortable while sharing our views, concern or life experiences, tend to become our friend. It is debatable argument that whether we should make people our friend who share common opinion with us or people who sometimes do not go along with our thoughts. In my view, there are merits and demerits of making friends who have same or different thoughts from us. We feel comfortable while sharing our view with person who has same opinion. There are few people with whom you feel accepted. Surely these type of people tend to become friends. We can openly discuss our concerns, problems of life without getting criticized. There is no reason of facing any resistance to new ideas. Each of ideas will be welcomed. For example, when I become worried about workplace politics, I prefer to discuss my situation with a person who know about my workplace politics and support my concerns. There is a flip side of having friends with same opinion. You won’t get any new idea or you won’t able to get new perspective of your thoughts. But when we have friends who sometimes disagree with our thoughts, we tend to get novel views from these friends. Situation in discussion will be analysed with positives and negatives. One might face resistance too from their friends but ultimately it will be good for you as you will get a chance to see other side of view. For example, when I wanted to leave my job to go abroad for further studies, I presented my viewpoints with my friends. My friends were happy to know my plan but they were concerned too about leaving my job. How I will support my studies and that was actually a deep concern. Basis on arguments in favour of and against having people friends from same and different opinion, I must say that we should have friends who can tell us positives and negatives of a scenario. There is no doubt that discussion with people having same opinion can be relaxing but I doubt whether One can get realistic solution or different perspective.