Every country in the world has its road rules, but many drivers do not obey them. Why is this happening? What can be done to solve this problem?

The road laws vary from country to country and various punishments are set for those who break them. But in some cases, they are not apt for the crime and it can lead motorists to violation of rules. Thus, give much stricter punishments on driving offenses could be a solution to tackle this problem. There are several reasons why some people do not respect the laws while driving. Foremost, in most places, the punishments imposed on them are non-custodial punishments such as fines, and when this type of punishment be so low that most people can afford it, the probability of breaking the rules on the roads is greatly increased. In Iran, for instance, in the past, the fine for crossing the Red-light was very small, and as a result in many drivers crossed it, regardless of its perils. Therefore, numerous accidents were met some of which led to fatal injuries. One reliable way to overcome this difficulty is to have stricter punishments for those drivers who do not follow rules. Stricter punishment, indeed, will act as a deterrent, so that motorists think twice before committing traffic offenses. In fact, the full weight of the law should be applied to impose a range of penalties such as heavy fines, the confiscation of a driving license. A couple of years ago and after an increasing rate of accidents due to passing Red-light by Iranian drivers, the government decided to quadruple its fine. Its consequence was incredible, indeed, achieved a breakthrough to reduce traffic accidents. In conclusion, a considerable number of refuses to obey the rules occurs in various countries every day. This is mainly because of the unfit punishment that its rate can be limited by imposing stiff penalties.