Some people think governments should spend less money on arts and invest more in education. How far with this opinion?

Many governments today allocate significant portions of their national budgets to the development and protection of arts. I think this is necessary and governments should not curb art budgets, although it is vital that more money is spent on education, as well. Decreasing public financial support for art would definitely leave normal people with little or no access to original fine art pieces. High art is immensely sought and supported by the private sector in most parts of the world, with art galleries and agents investing heavily in famous professional artists so that they can sell their works to wealthy private collectors. Therefore, if the government stops investing in this sector, there will practically be no paintings, sculptures or other forms of art available for ordinary citizens to enjoy, which can not only diminish their pursuit of beauty and perfection, but also leave them more depressed and passive, even vulgar. However, education plays a crucial role in the development of a country. More educated and skillful citizens can contribute greatly to a country’s progress since its industries, healthcare system and defense capabilities rely mostly on its progress in different fields of science and technology, which in turn requires skillful teachers, advanced computers and better-equipped laboratories. This means that the more money is spent on educational facilities and equipment and the more budget is allocated to supporting students and educators, the more likely it is for a country to develop. In conclusion, I think governments ought to maintain their financial support for arts while increasing education budgets, ensuring both continued access to fine arts for their citizens and sustained development for their countries.