Some people think competitive sport is important for a child’s education. Others think it has negative effects on children.

For a long time, the inclusion of sports in education has been a widely debatable topic. On top of that, the idea of including competitive sports in academics has attracted opposite views. This essay will shed light on these opposite sides and conclude with my take on them. First of all, people believe that competition involved in sports will instill the spirit of competitiveness among children. This spirit is vital to build a temperament of handling pressure and conflict in decisive events. Rather, it is common to witness how during the game scores keep on changing towards each team and build pressure on them. Admittedly in these situations, one learns that a focused and calm demeanor helps to excel in the game. Later on, these very attributes or skills imparted by competitive sports benefit in competitive exams faced by students. To cite an example, in a recent interview Tesla CEO, Elon Musk, discussed how competitive sports helped him to stay focused in challenging circumstances. On the contrary, many also argue that competition among children may lead to feelings of hatred and jealousy towards each other. It may increase conflict and animosity among themselves on the formation of separate groupings. As a result, students will be involved in mental and sometimes physical fights distracting them away from studies. Notably, in a Hindi movie, Chichore, it has been shown that competition resulted in grouping and increased confrontation among different students of the same college. Having said that, I believe that when competition involved in sports is healthy, with the mindset that losing and winning is just a part of the game, competitive sports, indeed, bring a very positive change in a student's personality.