Prison is the best punishment for crimanls. How far

Nowadays, the prolonged recession has increased the rates of crimes. However, several steps need to be taken in order to reduce the criminals from whole society. Some people believe that the prison is the most useful penalty for the rule breakers. I completely disagree with this statement, because this phenomenon has a serious disadvantages for individuals as well as socially. This essay will discuss the supporting point of view in the forth coming paragraphs, follwed by a reasond conclusion. Firstly, life in jail is considerably comfortable for prisoners. For instance, many inmates have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers, and sports facilities and so on. If prison is going to act as a deterrent then I believe it needs to be considerably tougher. Another reason why I disagree with iprisonment as a punishment is that a huge number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example. They are often lockedup in the same cells as murders, rapists and violent criminals. It has become a serious waste of taxprayer's money. Nevertheless, there is an argument that prison can help to rehabilitate offenders. As a result, many never re-offend when they are released. In addition, imprisonment might be too lenient for some other crimes. For instance, a serial killer on the loose, there is no reforming such person, therefore the essence of sending this person to a place where reformation can be achieved would be useless. Instead, they will continue the crime when they release. Hence, in cases like this, spending some time locked up is not enough. However, there are certain measures, which can be taken, by the government and individuals, to make people more safe and protected. If the youth of a country are provided vocational training and job opportunities, they would not fall on the path of crime. In conclusion, it is a common belief that the best way to punish offenders is by remanding them in prison. I absolutely disagree that every criminal deserves to the remanded, they need less or more punishment.