Some people say the Olympic Games do not have a role to play in the 21st century. To extent your agree or disagree?

The past several decades have witnessed the dramatic development of the Olympic Games which have been prevailing globally and enjoying a wide rage of fans. However, some people insist that the Olympic Games no longer play an important role in modern society. But in my opinion, I only disagree with the statement and the reasons are given below. On the one hand, hosting the Olympic Games is an exciting event and attract numerous people around the world to participate in competitive sports. So the conduct of Olympic Games means a wonderful chance to exhibit a nation’s culture and development to the world. For instance, the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games showed the world China’s development in science and technology, culture and economy, and left a deep impression on may foreign friends. By doing this, the image of the hosting government could improved and hence its international influence could be widened and deepened. On the other hand, the Olympic Games can creating about a huge of economic benefits to the hosting region. For example, the Chinese government has to spend at least two to three years for constructing the relative facilities such as sport centre and residential areas, and all those projects would drive the Beijing economic growth. Actually, investing in sports buildings can not only increase the job opportunities in the architecture industry, but bring diverse business opportunities as well, like the hotel industry, retailing and tourism, which will rise resident’s income and governmental revenue. In conclusion, I firmly commit to the notion that the Olympic Games still play an important role in the current century, because its not only enhance a nation’s economic power, but also a great bridge connects the hosting country and world, which is a vital window presenting their culture and traditions.