Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While many people believe that the most important enviromental problem, and should be adressed without haste, is the loss of many different species of animals and plants, others claim that there are much more important issues to focus, at the moment. I agree with both of these views to some extent and I would like to present my opinion in the following paragraphs of this essay. What many people does not realise is how important plants and animals are to our planet, rainforests’ destruction being the perfect example. As more and more people are in severe need for space to plant crops in South America, they turn their heads towards rainforrests and pick up an axe to make room for corn or wheat plantation. It results in destruction of the natural habitat for many exotic animals, a majority of which live nowhere else on the planet, hence, they become extinct. And no one but humans are to blame. There are also much broader problems at hand, like global warming, that causes melting of ice caps. As ice caps melt on both poles, the level of the sea rises rapidly and it is prognosed to rise by anoter 5 centimeters in the next decade. What is not hard to guess, the higher sea levels are, more cities will end up underwater, Venice being the perfect example. As the result, human lives are at stake, for flooded cities are unhabitable, therefore the process needs to be stopped as quickly as possible. All in all, I believe that every enviromental problem needs to be addressed accordingly, no matter how small, the only thing that differs should be the scale of the respose. Earth being the only planet that we have, we should not hesitate to do our best in order to protect it.