Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to keep themselves occupied on their own.

Free time of children is considered to be a critical factor for children’s growth. Although many people believe that parents should inspire their kids to attend organized group events, others are of the opinion that children should be self-oriented. This essay will discuss both views and why I believe that children should engage in group activities in their free time. To begin with, participation in group events helps children to become efficient problem solvers. This is because when a child participates in a group problem-solving activity, he can learn several perspectives of problem-solving from his peers. For example, if a student completes a math assignment in a group, he will know how to solve those maths in many alternative ways. In addition, a student can learn other valuable skills like teamwork and cooperation. To illustrate, not only does a student solve the problem, but he also helps others to solve the task. This is clearly beneficial for the future improvement of a child. On the other hand, there are others who believe that children should be able to manage their free time on their own. They think children waste most of their free time when in a group environment, and they end up doing nothing effective. Another reason for this is that youngsters need to learn to solve a problem independently as they will have to face those in the future, alone. However, if kids stay alone during their free time, they end up playing games and scrolling to social media. Thus, children should be supervised by a parent when they are alone during their free time. In conclusion, despite some benefits of being alone during free time, I believe structured group events help children to achieve many necessary skills.