Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

It is argued by a few that zoos have become insignificant in modern society and recommend closing them down. This essay addresses the issue that is contained within the zoo system and what can be done when zoos become obsolete. Though zoos provide easy access to the animal kingdom, it also consists of certain issues that need to be addressed. Isolating animals from their natural habitat can affect their mental health. Research demonstrates that infant animals show deep affection to their parents as much as human babies. Taking them away from their parents and friend circle can make them depressed. Therefore, it can be considered as a shade of animal cruelty. Furthermore, the security maintenance of the zoos has to be extremely rigid. If it is not efficiently implemented it can result in huge accidents. Take the Incidents that are reported in zoos all over the world, where zoo animals have attacked visitors, due to negligent security. However, there also exists some alternatives to the system of keeping animals locked up in cages. People can visit animals in the jungle where they truly belong. Although expensive, genuinely passionate animal lovers will be willing to take the chance to explore animals in their eco-systems. Moreover, animal enthusiasts can observe them, discover their habits and prepare a safe schedule in the forest to arrange visitor trips accordingly. To sum up, it is an unfair system to showcase animals for the sole purpose of human pleasure. It not only affects the mental balance of animals but also can generate security threats for visitors. Hence, instead of domesticating wild animals according to human wishes, it should be humans that visit them at their true home.