SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT MUSIC, ART AND DRAMA ARE MORE IMPORTANT AS OTHER SCHOOL SUBJECTS, ESPECIALLY AT PRIMARY LEVEL.

It is argued that the importance of children studying non-academic subjects at primary schools is no less than studying other academic ones. In my opinion, I agree that introducing music, art and drama is of great benefit for primary school pupils as studying such subjects would make students complain less about going to school and it would prepare some for their future careers. A good reason for teaching non-academic subjects at the primary level is that they would encourage children to go to school willingly without fighting or causing any morning problems for their parents. This is because many young students find it remarkably exciting to study fun subjects like music and art which would allow them to express their thoughts and feelings non-verbally and, consequently, this would help them excel in their studies. Another reason for introducing non-academic subjects at this early level is that studying such subjects would help some young students decide what careers to pursue later in life. In other words, students who are interested in music or art get great professional help at school and learn all the skills needed to turn their hobbies into real future careers. For example, Basam Kusa and Basil Khayat are famous Syrian actors who decided to pursue acting as a career when they were kids because they used to study drama twice a week at school; therefore, this helped them discover their real passion. In conclusion, taking both academic and non-academic subjects is equally beneficial for primary school students, especially considering that having non-academic ones would motivate them to go to school happily and help some of them develop their future careers.