Some people say that computer games are bad for children by all means, while others believe that these games contribute to children’s development.

It is obvious that computer games are becoming more and more popular these days, especially for children and teenagers. Some people argue that computer games have bad influence on children, whereas other people reckon that games have certain positive aspects on child’s growth. Both of these views will be addressed in detail in this essay. On the one hand, there are some reasons why playing computer games can be bad for youngsters. First, spending a great deal of time sitting and staring at computer screen can lead to some health problems. It can increase the chances of obesity, weaken muscles and eyesight. Secondly, playing too much computer games is harmful as they could disrupt child’s study. Specifically, because of computer games, children may receive poor grades or bad academic performance at school since they cannot concentrate on their study or assignments. On the other hand, there are some factors that can explain why computer games can be beneficial for children’s development. Initially, these games can help children develop analyzing and problem-solving skills since computers games usually require several hours of high level thinking to solve. Another positive aspect is that computer games can help children to be more familiar to computer technology, which is a very important skill in this modern society. In conclusion, although playing computer games can bring about some benefits in children’s development, I personally believe playing too much computer games is detrimental to the young generations. Therefore, parents need to take the responsibility of controlling over the time their children play games.