Increasing growth gap between urban and rural areas and reducing numbers of teachers in rural areas

It is undeniable that the growth gap between urban and rural areas is increasing steadily every day, resulting in a wide variety of negative socio-economic impacts on the residents of country-side. One of the most alarming concerns among such impacts is the decreasing availability of school teachers who are willing to work in the less developed areas and the declining popularity of rural school districts within the profession. One of the main reasons why rural areas fail to persuade teachers is the lack of easily accessible infrastructure such as health care, public transport and markets as the rural areas tend to be much less developed with lower living standards compared to the cities. Another reason is that the teachers of rural schools fail to achieve job satisfaction due to insufficient teaching supplies, equipment and facilities necessary to provide the best possible education and additionally, educators of rural schools are sometimes paid much less than those in city districts. To tackle this problem, the government should implement policies which will make working in rural areas more favorable among the teachers by providing incentives in the manner of travel and relocation allowances, housing allowances and medical insurances. Another good option is for the school administration to work together with teachers training colleges to increase the popularity of rural school districts and the government should also increase the rural schools’ budget so that the schools will have necessary means to create a vibrant educational environment for both students and the teachers. Nowadays, as the rural areas fail to become desirable to reside due to the stagnant growth compared to the cities, the effects of the problem become the most significant in the area of education services. The government is solely responsible to overturn this situation and if adequate and appropriate changes are not made timely, schools of the less developed areas will slowly have to close their doors to the students.